Eeek I forgot about Feastability!

November 2, 2007

mas_0025f_blg.jpg

I was going through photos and realized I didn’t post about Feastability..How could I forget, it was so very awesome. This was a Newtown food festival back on September 22. Tons of Newtown’s restaurants and shops had vendy tents out and there were a couple that really stood out.

MMMMM
mas_0023_blg.jpg
The Spanish Cook was the first place we gravitated towards…the paella tractor beam sucked us in….paella for breakfast, why not. By midday the line had grown to a ridiculous length, I had to punch people out of the way for our paella seconds 🙂 nooo..I didn’t… I waited patiently with all the other polite aussies, I put the New York in me on hold of a while.

mas_0034_blg.jpg
That’s a lot of paella

Awesome place number two was the Thai place in the Bank Hotel
mas_0011_blg.jpg

Steamy window full of ribs! Can’t say no to that.
mas_0003f_blg.jpg

Didn’t really pick up any Thai flavors in the ribs, they just tasted like really good southern bbq, but who cares they were great.
mas_0007f_blg.jpg

These were so good. I have no idea what was in them (tried to ask a couple of the ladies serving them but it was too crowded and loud to get an answer) all I remember is they were vegetarian and tasty, they’re called Miang Kum
mas_0010_blg.jpg

Ahhh that paella was so good! they were laughing at me because I kept taking photos of it 🙂
mas_0038_blg.jpg

One Response to “Eeek I forgot about Feastability!”

  1. Goaldeebug said

    That stuff ALL looks good!

    Miang Kum

    Miang Kum is an appetizer originally found only in the peasant regions of Thailand but now commonly sold as street food in all parts of that country. The term loosely translates to “savory bite”. It consists of fresh leaves of spinach or other tender greens topped with a sweet sauce or chutney and a variety of flavorful Thai condiments. The entire bundle is eaten in one bite; chewing all the ingredients together creates what has been described as a flavor explosion!

    OMG, it sounds awesome!

    http://www.elliemay.com/appetizers/MiangKum.html

Leave a comment